News

Your Google+ Profile Photo will show up when you call someone who uses Android 4.4 KitKat

google+ profile photo on Android

Imagine what would happen if you picked up a new cell phone, called a friend who — since they don’t have your ┬ánew number — wouldn’t normally recognize you, but instead they do because your photo shows up on their phone despite the fact that you aren’t on their contact list? You might need to wait just a few more months to see exactly that.

A Google staff has revealed on Google+ that Android 4.4 KitKat comes with a new type of caller ID, one that can send your Google+ profile photo along with your number, whenever you make a call to someone that uses Android 4.4 KitKat. The feature is pretty straightforward, when you set up a call, Google will look up that number on its Google+ database. If a match is found, which would be your personal Google+ profile, Google would grab the profile picture and send that as caller ID to the person you’re calling.

This is definitely a great and intuitive way to let people know who you are even before they pick up your phone. But this can also spark a debate over privacy matter. That’s why there’s a plain simple way to opt out of this feature.

To make this system work, Google needs two things from your end: a verified phone number and your permission to let people look you up using your phone number. If you don’t verify your phone number, there’s no chance of Google knowing who you are from your number in the first place. But if you use enough Google services, chances are your mobile number is already added to your Google account.

In that case, just head over to Google settings for phone, and uncheck the box that says Help people who have your phone number find you on Google services and connect with you. That’s it! When you do that, you’ve officially opted out of the new feature which is due sometime in early 2014, according to the Google staff.

Source: Engadget

Leave a Reply